Mr Stephen Tai

I am a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon at East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust, who specialises in adult hip and knee arthroplasty and the management of traumatic injuries. I consult privately at Pinehill Hospital in Hitchin. Having studied medicine at St Mary's Hospital medical school, I underwent specialist training on the highly regarded Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital, Stanmore, Specialist Registrar rotation. I then continued my sub specialty training in adult hip and knee replacement surgery on the prestigious year-long fellowship with the Specialist Orthopaedic Group in Sydney, Australia. During this fellowship, I was trained in the latest arthroplasty techniques, including the direct anterior approach to the hip, computer navigated hip replacements and patient specific implants. I have completed a second fellowship in complex trauma at University Hospital, Walsgrave - one of the busiest major trauma centres in the United Kingdom. Traumatic injuries remain a specialist interest of mine, and I am the trauma lead in my NHS hospital. I have published a number of articles related to my areas of sub-specialty interest and I have written book chapters on traumatic injuries.

Specialises in:

  • Orthopaedic and Trauma Surgery
 

Recent Reviews

 
« 1 2 »
Page 1 of 2
 
Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Trust
1 2 3 4 5

Listening
1 2 3 4 5
14th June 2017
Written by a patient at Pinehill Hospital

With reference to Mr Tai's letter of the 6th June may I say that my pain does not wear off as the day progresses. It becomes less so perhaps, with the help of the two paracetamol taken early in the morning, but there is persistent pain throughout the day both in the hip area and achilles tendon which very much restricts my walking. I accept that Mr Tai confirms my GP's view that the hip joint is operating satisfactorily and hope that the ultrasound scan can be done without any delay. I have, so far, not had any advice/appointment.

22nd June 2017
Response from Mr Stephen Tai

I'm disappointed to hear that my letter had a slight inaccuracy in it, but I am grateful for your feedback. If you have been seen at Pinehill Hospital, as your review states, it would be highly unusual not to have received an appointment date for your ultrasound by now (I presume that is what you are referring to by stating you have "not had any advice/appointment". Therefore, would you be kind enough to contact my secretary at Pinehill, and I can follow this up on your behalf.

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Trust
1 2 3 4 5

Listening
1 2 3 4 5
2nd June 2017
Written by a patient at Lister Hospital

I am not happy with the post treatment letter dated 24/5/2017. The doctors write up is incorrect. I have a no point requested not to have an operation on my knees it was the previous Consultant Mr Kerr who informed me they did not want to operate on me because of my kidney disease and antiphospholipid syndrome. In addition it was I who asked about braces not Mr Tai it was only after me asking him to look at the way I stand and me suggesting braces that he agreed. If I had not said anything he would have just administered the intra-articular injection and unfortunately this time it has not given me any pain relief so I remain in a wheelchair. After many years of gradual deterioration I don't feel any Consultant has taken my leg problems seriously and has just put it down to my spina bifida and not addressed symptoms as an isolated condition, yet up until I was in my thirties I lived a normal and active life. And now sadly IfeeI nothing will be done.

6th June 2017
Response from Mr Stephen Tai

I'm very sorry to hear that you are not happy with the content of the letter from your recent clinic appointment with me. The reason patients receive copies of the clinic letters is to highlight discrepancies such as this. Therefore, I would be delighted to review you in clinic to address your concerns. Intra-articular injections do have a variable length of duration and it is clearly very disappointing that this injection did not improve your pain, as the previous injection I administered to you did. I can assure you that I do take your leg problems very seriously, but the significant medical problems that you mention in your review do mean that non-operative techniques may play a larger role in your knee problem management when compared with someone who is otherwise well. I look forwards to seeing you in clinic in the near future.

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Trust
1 2 3 4 5

Listening
1 2 3 4 5
12th May 2017
Written by a patient at Pinehill Hospital

Prior to My referral to Mr Tai I was in pain struggling to walk and Was in jeopardy of having to resign from my place of work. Mr Tai from the outset put my mind at ease, patiently explained in detail what was the problem, then offered me treatments to a successful conclusion. On the 17th March I underwent a Hip replacement operation at Pinehill Hospital, The care from the staff I received was exceptional, nothing was to much for the staff, all were kind sympathetic and aware of my needs, all done with a cheery smile and a kind word. Mr Tai would make frequent visits over the weekend to check my welfare and enquire my well being. Mr Tai has done a fantastic job on my hip, I am out of pain and he managed to complete the procedure to within 2mm. I have made a very Quick recovery thanks to the after care from the Hospital I can thoroughly recommend Mr Tia , and have done so, to anyone looking to have treatment Thank you Mr Tai and Pine hill Hospital. .

6th June 2017
Response from Mr Stephen Tai

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you are happy with your new hip.

Trust
1 2 3 4 5

Listening
1 2 3 4 5

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5
27th February 2017
Written by a patient at Lister Hospital

I saw Mr Tai in January 2017 with pain in my left hip. Mr Tai was very thorough and very professional and having examined me and my X-Rays, injected me into the hip joint. I was very nervous about having this done as I have had injections into my shoulder before and know how painful they can be. Fortunately I felt nothing with this injection and can only put it down to Mr Tai's expertise. I am very happy to report that I have been pain-free since the visit. Thank you for all your assistance.

6th June 2017
Response from Mr Stephen Tai

Thank you for your feedback.

Trust
1 2 3 4 5

Listening
1 2 3 4 5

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5
23rd October 2016
Written by a patient at Lister Hospital

I was diagnosed with a severe hip deterioration in late September 2015, and it took nearly 2 months for my operation to happen. During this time Mr Tai took over my case and was in communication with me and my family, trying to get it carried out. After the operation he continued to check up on me whilst I remained in hospital. He has also been keen to ensure I have regular post operation consultations for him to check on my recovery and monitor my other hip. After spending so long in hospital waiting for my operation I am very grateful for my operation. I am very grateful for Mr Tai,s work then and now

6th June 2017
Response from Mr Stephen Tai

Thank you for your feedback.


« 1 2 »
Page 1 of 2

Where this Doctor works


Nearest Orthopaedic and trauma surgeons

1 2 3 4 5 (14)
0 miles


1 2 3 4 5 (2)
9.2 miles



Resources

Short link to review Mr Stephen Tai: http://iwgc.net/egb9l

Help other patients and leave feedback for a:


- Clinician
- Medicine
- Treatment
- Hospital
- GP Surgery
- Dental Surgery
- Wheelchair Service
 
iWantGreatCare uses cookies to help make the website work better for you. More information about cookies and how they are used can be viewed here.