Birchington Medical Centre

Minnis Road, Birchington, Kent, England, CT7 9HQ

 

Recent Reviews

Showing reviews for the last 12 months, Show all reviews
 
« 1 2 3 4 »
Page 1 of 4
 
Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Involvement
1 2 3 4 5

Cleanliness
1 2 3 4 5

Staff
1 2 3 4 5

Appointment
1 2 3 4 5
24th September 2019
Written by a patient

Since we became patients at this practice we have all been happy with the care we have received, Yes if it’s not urgent you have to wait a couple of weeks for an appointment which I get sometimes by the time of the appointment your issue has gone but unfortunately this is a sign of the times now & the practice can only do what it can with the budget it has. But the couple of times one of us have needed an urgent appointment we have been fitted in on the day which we are so grateful for. The NHS is not what it once was & I think every practice is struggling to meet targets but BMC has sorted us out in our time of need so thank you for that.

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Involvement
1 2 3 4 5

Cleanliness
1 2 3 4 5

Staff
1 2 3 4 5

Appointment
1 2 3 4 5
6th September 2019
Written by a patient

Good luck to anyone trying to see an actual doctor! The receptionist’s job seems to be to send you to any other health care personnel that she can think of in order to avoid actually offering you an appointment. I’m starting to suspect that there aren’t any doctors prepared to work here anymore! I’m not sure what medical qualifications the receptionists hold at thus surgery, but they happily triage patients! My advice, if asked if it’s an emergency, say YES! otherwise the trapdoor opens! Heaven help us all!

16th September 2019
Response from Birchington Medical Centre

Dear Patient Thank you for you comments. I am sad to see that you did not feel you could raise your concerns directly with us/me. However, in answer to your comments, yes, we do have several doctors working here, and our receptionists are trained by the clinical team and follow strict guidelines to assess the patient's need and signpost the patient to the right clinician or service, at the right time (Care Navigating). They can then ensure that patient's see the most appropriator clinician for their needs. This helps us to ensure resources can meet the need of our community. Not every request for a doctor needs to be seen by a doctor and can be dealt with appropriately, and quickly by other clinical team members such as an Advanced Nurse Practitioner, Clinical Pharmacist or Specialist Nurse. Almost all GP practices in Thanet, and across the country request information from patients at the point they request an appointment. Birchington Medical Centre has been doing this for several years now, and it enables us to ensure the best outcomes for our patients and make effective use of our trained staff and their specialist skills and knowledge. NHS England published the GP Forward View in April 2016 which outlined the Government's investment into primary care to help stabilise GP practices with investment in additional clinical staff, and approved ways to assist GP practices with the huge workload placed upon them, while ensuring timely and appropriate access to services. Training receptionists as Care Navigator was one of these initiatives. I have included a web link below which provides more information, and I hope you find this useful and informative. https://www.england.nhs.uk/gp/gpfv/redesign/gpdp/reception-clerical/ If you have any further queries, or would like to discuss your concerns further, please do make contact with me at the surgery on 01843 8488148 or by email on birchingtonmcpm@nhs.net Kind regards Hannah Price Practice Manager

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Involvement
1 2 3 4 5

Cleanliness
1 2 3 4 5

Staff
1 2 3 4 5

Appointment
1 2 3 4 5
4th September 2019
Written by a patient

The care my wife received yesterday 3rd Sept and today 4th Sept was amazing. Reception, nurses and Nurse practitioner, we had an appointment with a nurse in minutes who referred her to a Nurse practitioner, an appointment was made for a ECG,And a 24 hour heart monitor to be fitted that evening,Plus a blood test for the following day.A couple of years ago this surgery was getting bad reviews but over the last year my wife and I have seen a vast improvement which i am sure will continue. Thank you all. Kind regards Mr & Mrs Burlace.

16th September 2019
Response from Birchington Medical Centre

Dear Mr and Mrs Burlace Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of our practice and staff. It means a great deal to staff to receive complements and thanks about their work and the care they give to our patients. I have shared your kind words with the whole team here at BMC. Thank you again. Hannah Price Practice Manager

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Involvement
1 2 3 4 5

Cleanliness
1 2 3 4 5

Staff
1 2 3 4 5

Appointment
1 2 3 4 5
9th August 2019
Written by a patient

Excellent service from BMC, thank you Barbara for my 24 hour heart monitoring and a painless blood test.

21st August 2019
Response from Birchington Medical Centre

Dear Patient Thank you for your kind review and feedback. I have shared your feedback with the team (include Barbara) here at the surgery. Thank you again. Hannah Price Practice Manager

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Involvement
1 2 3 4 5

Cleanliness
1 2 3 4 5

Staff
1 2 3 4 5

Appointment
1 2 3 4 5
6th August 2019
Written by a patient

I was dismissed very quickly by the receptionist when I called in to ask for advice about a minor injury. I was given a leaflet and advised to travel to Whitstable to the Estuary View unit. I mentioned that I did not have use of a car and received no response. After an hour of travelling by train and a substantial walk, a nurse at Estuary View spent no more than five minutes attending to my needs. She commented that BMC are notorious for very quickly referring patients to Estuary View. As I live so close to the surgery on Minnis Road, and fortunately have very little need of this resource, I was disappointed in the response. I understand needs must be prioritised but wonder if a little more flexibility could be offered, rather than simply passing the buck and making things harder for individuals like me who do not have access to easy transport.

21st August 2019
Response from Birchington Medical Centre

Dear Patient I am sorry to read of your dissatisfaction at being signposted to the Minor Injury Unit at Whitstable. We offer many services here at BMC to our local community such as ultrasound, physiotherapy, aortic screening, bladder and bowel clinics, chronic disease management, warfarin clinics, etc. We do not, at present, offer a minor injuries service. The clinical staff here at BMC are trained to provide primary care medical services to our patients. They work to strict clinical and professional guidelines to provide general practice nursing services and cannot provide treatment or services outside of their professional scope of practice, which is why you were directed to the most appropriate NHS service. My reception staff are trained to direct patients to the local minor injury units when a patient presents with a minor injury. Appropriately trained staff, diagnostics and equipment can then be utilised for minor injury needs and ensure the patient receives the best care and outcome for their needs. I am sorry you felt the need to leave a negative review our service, my staff were simply doing their job. Hannah Price Practice Manager


« 1 2 3 4 »
Page 1 of 4

{{category}} working at Birchington Medical Centre ({{entities.length}})
Order by: surname | rating | review count
{{entity.name}}
{{getReviewCountLabel(entity.review_count)}}
{{entity.name}} {{getReviewCountLabel(entity.review_count)}}

Resources

Short link to review Birchington Medical Centre: http://iwgc.net/eb8v2

Help other patients and leave feedback for a:


- Clinician
- Medicine
- Treatment
- Hospital
- GP Surgery
- Dental Surgery
- Wheelchair Service
 
iWantGreatCare uses cookies to help make the website work better for you. More information about cookies and how they are used can be viewed here.