Birchington Medical Centre

Minnis Road, Birchington, Kent, England, CT7 9HQ

 

Recent Reviews

 
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 »
Page 1 of 30
 
Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Involvement
1 2 3 4 5

Cleanliness
1 2 3 4 5

Staff
1 2 3 4 5

Appointment
1 2 3 4 5
9th August 2019
Written by a patient

Excellent service from BMC, thank you Barbara for my 24 hour heart monitoring and a painless blood test.

21st August 2019
Response from Birchington Medical Centre

Dear Patient Thank you for your kind review and feedback. I have shared your feedback with the team (include Barbara) here at the surgery. Thank you again. Hannah Price Practice Manager

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Involvement
1 2 3 4 5

Cleanliness
1 2 3 4 5

Staff
1 2 3 4 5

Appointment
1 2 3 4 5
6th August 2019
Written by a patient

I was dismissed very quickly by the receptionist when I called in to ask for advice about a minor injury. I was given a leaflet and advised to travel to Whitstable to the Estuary View unit. I mentioned that I did not have use of a car and received no response. After an hour of travelling by train and a substantial walk, a nurse at Estuary View spent no more than five minutes attending to my needs. She commented that BMC are notorious for very quickly referring patients to Estuary View. As I live so close to the surgery on Minnis Road, and fortunately have very little need of this resource, I was disappointed in the response. I understand needs must be prioritised but wonder if a little more flexibility could be offered, rather than simply passing the buck and making things harder for individuals like me who do not have access to easy transport.

21st August 2019
Response from Birchington Medical Centre

Dear Patient I am sorry to read of your dissatisfaction at being signposted to the Minor Injury Unit at Whitstable. We offer many services here at BMC to our local community such as ultrasound, physiotherapy, aortic screening, bladder and bowel clinics, chronic disease management, warfarin clinics, etc. We do not, at present, offer a minor injuries service. The clinical staff here at BMC are trained to provide primary care medical services to our patients. They work to strict clinical and professional guidelines to provide general practice nursing services and cannot provide treatment or services outside of their professional scope of practice, which is why you were directed to the most appropriate NHS service. My reception staff are trained to direct patients to the local minor injury units when a patient presents with a minor injury. Appropriately trained staff, diagnostics and equipment can then be utilised for minor injury needs and ensure the patient receives the best care and outcome for their needs. I am sorry you felt the need to leave a negative review our service, my staff were simply doing their job. Hannah Price Practice Manager

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Involvement
1 2 3 4 5

Cleanliness
1 2 3 4 5

Staff
1 2 3 4 5

Appointment
1 2 3 4 5
10th July 2019
Written by a patient

The dreaded time had come where I received my letter in the post about having my first smear test. As any 25 year old that receives this, I felt nervous, anxious and uneasy. I was pleased to find out that Lucy a nurse that works here would be seeing me. I’ve seen Lucy many times before when I had an issue with my B12. She’s always so friendly, very welcoming and chatty. So as my first ever test I was made at ease just knowing she will be doing it. As soon as I walked in, as usual she greeted me with a familiar approach and saw I was extremely nervous. She put me at ease and explained what it all entailed. So this is just a message to Lucy to say thank you very much for your ongoing loveliness and for making me feel unafraid about the experience.

19th July 2019
Response from Birchington Medical Centre

Dear Patient Thank you kindly for sharing your thoughts on our nurse, Lucy. I shall ensure your feedback is shared with her and the rest of our team. It is very pleasing to hear how she made you feel at ease and explained what the procedure was going to entail. Take up for cervical screening among young women has declined, so it is pleasing to hear you had a 'good' experience and can hopefully encourage others to make sure they have had their smear tests done too. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. Hannah Price Practice Manager

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Involvement
1 2 3 4 5

Cleanliness
1 2 3 4 5

Staff
1 2 3 4 5

Appointment
1 2 3 4 5
8th July 2019
Written by a patient

First impressions ,I do appreciate that radio in reception is ubut the music is always awful ,but primarily cos I am deaf ,with hearing aids the music really makes it hard to talk to the receptionist ,having said that the ladies are usually very patient and we do get thro, I have had very few poor visits with the actual doctors ,but Dr Casey is particularly outstanding ,he listens and answers in very clear and precise terms ,again being deaf I need to be spoken to not away from .and he does that ,totally trustworthy and our last visit ,my wife was really upset over her forthcoming op ,and Dr Casey really put her mind at rest, I can only say that his care and attention are exceptional Thanks again.

19th July 2019
Response from Birchington Medical Centre

Dear Patient I am sorry to read that you sometimes struggle with the noise from the radio in our reception area when speaking to the receptionist. Please do ask/indicate that you are struggling to hear, and make your way around to the side window on reception, which is away from the radio. The radio is there to help with patient confidentiality, but I can competently appreciate that it makes things hard for you with your hearing aids. The ladies on reception will do their upmost to ensure they can accommodate your needs when you visit the surgery next time. I have also passed on your kind comments to Dr Casey, for which he was very grateful. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review and comments. Hannah Price Practice Manager

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Involvement
1 2 3 4 5

Cleanliness
1 2 3 4 5

Staff
1 2 3 4 5

Appointment
1 2 3 4 5
10th June 2019
Written by a patient

Attention : Hannah Price and Teresa Slingsby Thank you very much for giving up your time on 5 June 2019, to explain my medical records with information given erroneously from tests supposed to have been taken on 27 March 2019. I had no idea it would have taken up so much of your time, but was very pleased to go through things with you, especially with Teresa. Also happy to be able to speak to Elizabeth (Path Lab) from the QEQM. I am just grateful that these "bad" results have been totally removed from my records now. Many thanks too for all the print-outs of my details, which I will certainly save. Once again ladies, my thanks for all your patience and hard work - I know you have had to work on this for a while when it was not even the Surgery's fault. Thank goodness it has all been resolved now. Take care

17th June 2019
Response from Birchington Medical Centre

Dear Patient Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are all extremely pleased that we have been able to resolve the matter for you, and that this has now eased your worries about your ongoing health care and record accuracy. We wish you all the very best. Kind regards Hannah Price Practice Manager


« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 »
Page 1 of 30

{{category}} working at Birchington Medical Centre ({{entities.length}})
Order by: surname | rating | review count
{{entity.name}}
{{getReviewCountLabel(entity.review_count)}}
{{entity.name}} {{getReviewCountLabel(entity.review_count)}}

Resources

Short link to review Birchington Medical Centre: http://iwgc.net/eb8v2

Help other patients and leave feedback for a:


- Clinician
- Medicine
- Treatment
- Hospital
- GP Surgery
- Dental Surgery
- Wheelchair Service
 
iWantGreatCare uses cookies to help make the website work better for you. More information about cookies and how they are used can be viewed here.