Miss Caoilin Maclaverty

I have been a Consultant Obstetrician at Barking Havering and Redbridge Universtity Trust since 2008. I am Lead for both antenatal care and for undergraduate teaching. My interests are in high risk obstetrics, ultrasound scanning and also simulation training.

Specialises in:

  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology
 

Recent Reviews

 
Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Trust
1 2 3 4 5

Listening
1 2 3 4 5
3rd June 2018
Written by a patient at Queen's Hospital

I found myself under the care of miss Maclaverty when expecting my first child (born January 2018). My baby was small and therefore miss maclaverty advised that I go for an induction at 37 weeks. Instead of giving me information and time to process the shock of it all, she literally told me I needed to be induced (in two weeks time) and looked at me with a blank face expecting me to give a date for induction right there and then. I was alone, had not even had a chance to talk to my partner or properly understand what an induction meant. She could see my uncertainty and hesitation and said “you can turn down ththe induction if you want, but I’m going to write everything in your notes. If anything happens to your baby it’s not going to be held on me”; she then started going on and on and on about risk of still birth. I felt pressured into giving a time and date for induction there and then and felt extremely traumatised by the way she almost guilt tripped me into it by going on about stillbirth. After I left the room shaking another midwife kindly took me into a room and gently explained everything in great detail for me. Not a very pleasant experience as a new mum however . I am happy to report that my baby girl was born healthy but yes small but she has now nearly tripled her birth weight (currently 20weeks old). I Never want to be under the ‘care’ of this Doctor again. You are not a patient to her but just a statistic. All she cares about is keeping her record clean. I will be making a formal complaint as her treatment goes against trust policy. Eg giving patient time to go away and think about what they would like to do!

7th June 2018
Response from Miss Caoilin Maclaverty

I am sorry about the shock and the disappointment you felt under my care. In future I will offer more time for patients to go away and think about things and to consider about dates. However, patients are not very forgiving if there have been poor outcomes and they have not been fully informed about negative consequences of no intervention either. I have considered your review and will alter my practice accordingly. I am really pleased that your child came safely into the world, however, and that your baby is putting on weight. I wish you all the best for the future.

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Trust
1 2 3 4 5

Listening
1 2 3 4 5
26th January 2018
Written by a patient at Queen's Hospital

I was under the care of Miss MacLaverty during my first pregnancy, concluding in a successful delivery of a healthy daughter in February 2016. I appreciated the clarity with which she presented information during our consultations. Her confidence and clarity inspired confidence in her judgement, and I always felt that I was in safe, experienced hands. I also had the opportunity to witness her mentoring of more junior doctors at many of our interactions, and it was nice to think that they had the opportunity of learning from her and hopefully go on to provide the same high standards with their own patients.

27th January 2018
Response from Miss Caoilin Maclaverty

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review on 'IWant Great Care'. I am delighted that you mentioned me teaching the junior doctors. I am doing a post-graduate course in medical education to get better at teaching our students and specialist trainees, so your kind words about my teaching meant a lot to me. From what you write, your daughter will be 1 year old next month . I hope that you have a wonderful day with her and your family celebrating her first birthday together. With Best Wishes, Caoilin MacLaverty

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Trust
1 2 3 4 5

Listening
1 2 3 4 5
7th July 2017
Written by a patient at Queen's Hospital

I would like to thank this great, amazing DR. I was recently treated by her due to me having heavy bleeding due to my pregnancy (low placenta) and her and team were was excellent with my care. They explained to me every detail and took care of my family whilst they were waiting. Thank you to you and your team. I am home recovering really well and enjoying my baby

7th July 2017
Response from Miss Caoilin Maclaverty

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write your lovely review. It has made my DAY! I wish you , and your baby and family all the best for the future. Hopefully ,if you go for another pregnancy, the placenta will implant in the right place. Best Wishes, Caoilin MacLaverty

Recommend
1 2 3 4 5

Trust
1 2 3 4 5

Listening
1 2 3 4 5
12th April 2017
Written by a patient at King George Hospital

If patients were seen on time


Nearest Obstetricians and gynaecologists

1 2 3 4 5 (3)
0 miles

1 2 3 4 5 (1)
0 miles

1 2 3 4 5 (1)
0 miles

1 2 3 4 5 (9)
0 miles

1 2 3 4 5 (6)
0 miles

Resources

Short link to review Miss Caoilin Maclaverty: http://iwgc.net/eejte

Help other patients and leave feedback for a:


- Clinician
- Medicine
- Treatment
- Hospital
- GP Surgery
- Dental Surgery
- Wheelchair Service
 
iWantGreatCare uses cookies to help make the website work better for you. More information about cookies and how they are used can be viewed here.